Frequently Asked Questions

How do I backup my website?
Last Updated 2 years ago

Backing up your website is easily done through your control panel or "cpanel" for short , and is the sole responsibility of the end user. You can access it by doing the following:
Step 1
  1. Go to (the yourdomain part will be your website and the .com may be .whatever your site is. The /cpanel is required in order to get to it. )
  2. Enter Your account username. (provided when you first signed up.)
  3. Enter your account password. (determined when you signed up.)
  4. Click "Log In"

Step 2
Find and click on "Backup Wizard"


Step 3
Click The "Backup" button.

Step 4
Click on the "Full Backup" button.

Step 5
  1. Make sure "Backup Destination" is set to Home directory. (You may use other settings but you are on your own for those.)
  2. Your domain contact email should already be filled in, however if you wish to choose a different email for notification you may enter in something else here.
  3. Click the "Generate Backup" button.
Step 6
  1. Take a second to make sure that the notification is going to the correct email address by reading the notification on screen. This backup process will take several minutes, and an email will be sent to the address you provided when done.
  2. When you get the notification click the icon circled at number 2. to go back to the main menu.
Step 7
Find and click the "Backup' icon and NOT the Backup Wizard.
Step 8
Click on the "Download a Full Website Backup" button.

Step 9
  1. Click on the link that has your backup labeled with the words "backup-date_othernumbersandinfo.tar.gz" and your download will start.
  2. Click on the icon to take you back to the main menu.
Step 10
Once your download has completed, find and click on the File Manager icon.
if a box appears just click "ok' , if not that is ok. in any case proceed to the next step.
Step 11
  1. Locate the file you just downloaded and click one time on it. (DO NOT DOUBLE CLICK)
  2. Go to the menu on top and click delete. (The backup takes up space on the server and will take away from your overall space available, so once downloaded it is safe and highly recommended to delete the copy since you have it on your own computer now.
Step 12
  1. Click on the checkbox to place a check in it.
  2. Click comfirm.
  3. You are now done and can close out of any and all windows.

Please Wait!

Please wait... it will take a second!